Our Mission

The mission of the Albany Symphony Association is to enrich the quality of life in southwest Georgia by providing and promoting symphonic music through the organization, development and support of a symphony orchestra and related educational, artistic, and diverse cultural activities.

Executive Director

Executive Director Joelle Leigh Fryman

Joëlle Leigh Fryman earned her Bachelor of Arts in Theatre Studies with a Minor in Vocal Music Performance from Capital University where she performed in numerous theatrical and musical productions including A Streetcar Named Desire, Blythe Spirit, and A Midsummer Night's Dream. Following her completion of this program, she auditioned for and was offered a position with Columbus Children's Theatre (CCT), a long-standing nonprofit children's theatre located in Columbus, Ohio, as a member of their Professional Touring Company and as a Professional Teaching Artist for their Academy. She worked in this capacity for two years before being asked to step into the position of Interim Education Director for the CCT Academy, a position that she then moved into full-time. After a four-year tenure as the Education Director, Fryman took leave from CCT in order to continue her education at the University of Akron in Akron, Ohio, where she received her Masters of Arts in Arts Administration and Nonprofit Management.

On completion of her degree Fryman accepted the position of Managing Director with the Minnesota Conservatory for the Arts (MCA) in Winona, Minnesota. After two and a half years with MCA, she tenured her resignation in order to support her husband, a military officer posted in Texas and subsequently Louisiana, and start their family. After a brief sabbatical from the nonprofit arts world, Fryman most recently accepted the position of Executive Director with the Albany Symphony Orchestra (ASO) here in Albany, Georgia. She and her family are excited to be a part of the community and feel at home already.

ASO Officers

Dawn G. Benson

Marcia Mitchell Hood
Immediate Past-President

Fred Sharpe
Vice President

Dacia Berry

ASO Staff

Claire Fox Hillard
Music Director & Conductor

Joelle Leigh Fryman
Executive Director

LeeAnna Anglin
Administrative Assistant/Box Office

Eric Bradshaw
Orchestra Personnel Manager

ASO Board of Directors

Dawn Benson Dacia Berry Wilburn Campbell Erin Freeman
Middi Moore Mary Helen Morgan Matthew Phelps Ben Roberts
Judge Louis Sands Fred Sharpe Daniel Titus